Users of X (formerly Twitter) will not be able to block people from seeing their posts or leaving comments, Elon Musk has said.
The social media platform owner said the function “makes no sense” – adding that it will only be possible to block someone from sending direct messages.
In the shake-up to the app, users will now only be able to mute individuals, which allows someone to remove another account’s posts from their timeline, without unfollowing or blocking them.
The user’s posts remain visible to the muted account.
Twitter co-founder Jack Dorsey suggested he agreed with removing the option to block, replying: “100%. Mute only.”
The X help centre currently says blocked accounts cannot follow you, view your tweets when logged in (unless they report you, and your tweets mention them), find your tweets in search or send direct messages to you.
Blocked accounts are also unable to view your followers and following lists, likes or lists when logged in, tag you in a photo, add your account to their lists, or view a “Moment” you have created.
The change has prompted concern from many X users, including the Auschwitz Memorial, which replied: “Failing to address the antisemitic and Holocaust denial comments that appear under our posts commemorating the victims of Auschwitz would be a disservice to their memory.
“We’ve chosen to block users who promote denial and hatred.”
The account said the blocking function is a “practical measure”.
The ability to no longer filter harassment or bullying could mean X is no longer downloadable from those online app stores.